

Draft Minutes of the Annual General Meeting (AGM)

Held Monday, June 30, 2020 7:00 to 8:39 pm via video conference

The slides presented at, and a recording of, the meeting can be found at https://drive.google.com/file/d/15RhmTWA1GWNtBl8hyzemUDPnKlZxhQ65/view?usp=sharing

- 1. Welcome by the President: Susan Young, President of ASH opened the ASH 2020 AGM by welcoming those who were participating in the video conference (32 members of the community) and introducing the current ASH Board: Michael Barnes, Trina Cooper-Bolam, David Elden, Claude Jobin, Cathy Major, Megan Reilkoff, Paula Tchen, John Verbaas (regrets: Larry Newman, Chad Rollins). Susan identified herself as the Chair of the AGM.
- 2. Review of the Agenda for the June 30, 2020 AGM: The agenda was approved unanimously on a motion by François Bregha, seconded by Bob Forbes.
- 3. Approval of the 2019 AGM Minutes The minutes of the AGM held on May 23, 2019 will be sent by email to ASH members for their approval.
- 4. Board Reports: The Executive and other Committee chairpersons provided reports of their work throughout the past year, as well as their 2020 plans through a PowerPoint presentation. The Treasurer's report was passed unanimously on a motion by Michael Barnes, seconded by Trina Cooper-Bolam.
- 5. Questions for the Board: Questions were asked relating to COVID-19 and its effect on development in the community, homelessness and drugs, and Active Mobility Corridors on Laurier Avenue.
- 6. Retiring Board Members: Bob Forbes announced the retirement of Larry Newman, Chair of the Bylaw Committee and Chad Rollins, past President of ASH and Chair of the Planning Committee. Bob described the many valuable contributions both Larry and Chad have made to Sandy Hill over the years, and thanked them on behalf of the community.
- 7. Elections: The Chair turned the meeting over to Sabrina Matthews, the appointed Elections Officer. Sabrina advised that Susan Young was standing for reelection as President. As no other candidates presented themselves, Susan was acclaimed as President of ASH for the next two years. Sabrina then moved on to the positions of Directors on the Board, indicating that three director positions had to be filled at this AGM, each for a term of two years. Hilary Duff and Yipeng Ge had self-nominated prior to the AGM. Trina Cooper-Bolam, Megan Reilkoff, and Claude Jobin, currently serving as Directors, self-nominated in order to continue as Directors. Sabrina asked three times for any other nominations from those participating in the video conference. There were none. Each of the people who nominated themselves was asked to introduce her- or himself, and describe their interests. All nominees were acclaimed to the ASH Board and therefore no further vote was necessary. The Elections Officer returned the floor to the Chair.

- 8. Volunteer of the Year Award: Claude Jobin introduced Hilary Duff as the 2020 Volunteer of the Year. Hilary had been nominated by Jan Finlay, Jane McNamara and Judy Rinfret. Claude described how Hilary, as a new resident to the neighbourhood, founded the Sandy Hill Community Response Team to match volunteers with people in the community who required assistance during the COVID-19 crisis. Susan explained that the award was in the Sandy Hill Community Centre which is currently closed due to COVID-19. Hilary's name will be engraved on the award once the Centre re-opens.
- 9. Other Business:
 - a) Rideau River Winter Trail: Peter Nor reported that last year 31/2 km of trail on the west side of the Rideau River were groomed 8 times during the season for skiing, snowshoeing and fat biking. For the next winter season, the aim is to increase grooming and expand the trails on both sides of the Rideau River. The Urban Winter Trail Alliance has been formed by the volunteer groups that run a number of similar winter trails throughout Ottawa. The Rideau River Trail group is incorporating and is in the process of securing insurance. The group is looking for more sponsors and would like to see representation from ASH. Information on the Trail and the Alliance can be found at: https://www.rideausportscentre.com/rideau-winter-trail/.
- 10. Election Results: Sabrina Matthews announced that the 2020 ASH Board will be composed of the following members:

Susan Young – President

Directors:

Michael Barnes

John Verbaas

Paula Tchen

Dave Elden

Megan Reilkof

Cathy Major

Trina Cooper-Bolam

Claude Jobin

Hilary Duff

Yipeng Ge

11. Adjournment: Susan thanked the residents in attendance and the meeting was adjourned at 8:39 pm.